UNIT-1 LS.3 THE FIRST MEETING

Lesson No :3                                                                            Unit  -I

 

THE FIRST MEETING

-Sujata Bhatt

When I run past the uncounted trees,

groves of mango, eucalyptus –

how the grass slips beneath my feet,

how the wind circles up my legs,

(invisible snake I can’t escape)                                        5

How the kingfisher-blue sky grows

Sunnier each second as I run

Up the hill almost blinded,

Run down the other side, my tongue dry,

To the lake where the sky is trapped, tamed blue.            10

But closer, it is clear water. As I drink

Green snakes swim up to the surface,

I recoil amazed, run back faster, faster.

 

When I get home

he’s there: King Cobra

tightlty curled up in a corner.

He looks tired.                                                                              15

‘Come inside, close the door,

Don’t run away,’ he seems to smile.

‘I live in your garden                                                                20

I chose it because of the huge purple-golden dahlias.

I’ve never seen such tall stalks,

Such plump flowers, and the mice!’

‘What do you want?’ I ask afraid

His sunken hood will expand.                                                       25

 

‘Oh you needn’t worry, you needn’t worship me

as all the rest do. Please don’t change.

Everywhere I go people pester me

with their prayers,

their hundred bowls of milk a day.                                                         30

 

There’s only so much milk I can drink.

I won’t be cought

and have my teeth pulled out.

I won’t be stuffed in a basket

and commanded to rise, wave after wave,

to ripple around the straw rim.                                                      35

As if their baskets could move me.

Oh I am sooo tired …’ he sighs.

‘What do you want?’ I ask.                                                           40

 

‘I want to live in your garden,

to visit you, especially those nights you sing,

let me join you,

And once in a while, let me lie around your neck

and share a bowl of milk.’

 

SUMMARY

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.