TELEPHONE CONVERSATION – TOURISM

TELEPHONE CONVERSATION.

MEANING: telephone (derived from the Greek: τῆλε, tēle, “far” and φωνή, phōnē, “voice”, together meaning “distant voice”), or phone, is a telecommunications device that permits two or more users to conduct a conversation when they are too far apart to be heard directly. A telephone converts sound, typically and most efficiently the human voice, into electronic signals that are transmitted via cables and other communication channels to another telephone which reproduces the sound to the receiving user.

In 1876, Alexander Graham Bell was the first to be granted a United States patent for a device that produced clearly intelligible replication of the human voice. 

One of the oldest and widely used mechanical media of oral communication is telephone. By telephone persons residing far away from each other can easily exchange necessary information. By it, urgent message can be transmitted and prompt feedback can be ensured. Telephonic conversation is most effective when distance is longer and time is a great factor. Now-a-days cell phones are becoming more popular along with land phone as mechanical media of oral communication.

DEFINITATION: telephonic conversation as an exchange of information between two persons over telephone. This is not a face-to-face conversation rather a person-to-person conversation where nobody sees other but hears each other and interacts instantly. Business Communication

How to Make Effective Telephone Calls

Talking over telephone is an art. Good telephoning techniques can help you win friends and create goodwill. Your voice may convey a first impression of your business or organization. There is an old proverb “you do not get a second chance to make a first impression,” which is fully applicable in telephone conversation. Good telephone cells require proper planning the message before dialing the number.

The following suggestions are recommended to follow while making telephone calls-

  • Make the call at an appropriate time. 9.00 a.m to 5.00 p.m is appropriate time for office or office or business calls and 9.00 a.m to 9.00 p.m is for personal calls. Be careful of time difference when making international calls.
  • Make sure about the number and dial it correctly.
  • Give the call receiver enough time to answer the call, up to ten rings.
  • Smile and provide details about your identity like name, company, department, etc.
  • Identify clearly the person you want to talk to.
  • Share greetings and provide the reason of your calling.
  • Be careful and courteous when delivering the message, and try to be sure that the receiver understands you.
  • Be patient when calling with a problem. You are to explain the reason several times to make your counterpart understand the difficulty.
  • Give complete information to your listener if you want him call you back.
  • If you do not reach the intended person and want your call returned, leave a complete message including your name, number, organization, etc.
  • Make sense when you are to end the conversation. Do not forget to offer “Thanks” and “Good-bye” at the end of the call.
  • Be considerate of other who may share your phone.

English Phrases for Business Telephone Calls

Taking a call

When you answer the phone at your job, you’ll want to always greet the caller professionally. Here are two formats you might use to do so.

1. Hello/Good morning/Good afternoon. [Company name], [your name] speaking, how may I help you?

For example, if your name is Alice and you work at a company called Quick Translations, you might say:

Good morning! Quick Translations, Alice speaking. How may I help you?

This quickly tells the caller who you are, and then lets them explain why they’re calling.

2. [Company name], [your name] speaking.

This second one is a shorter greeting: Quick Translations, Alice speaking.

You can also use “This is [your name]” as another way to say “[Your name] speaking.”

Making a call

Sometimes you are the one initiating (beginning) a phone call. You may have more time to prepare in this case. You can use one of the formats below for greeting people when you call them:

3. Hello, this is [your name] from [company name].

For example, if you are Neil Jenkins and you work at ABC Travels, you might say:

“Hello, this is Neil Jenkins from ABC Travels.

You may want to include your surname (last name) if you know the caller doesn’t know you very well.

4. Hi, it’s [your name] from [company name].

You may also say “Hi, it’s Neil Jenkins from ABC Travels” to start a phone conversation.

Asking for somebody

It’s important to know exactly who you want to talk to and you can use one of the options below.

5. May I speak to [person’s name]?

This first phrase is a question, and slightly more polite than the next option. Here’s an example:

May I (please) speak to Mr. Smith?

6. I’d like to speak to [person’s name], please.

For example, “I’d like to speak to Mr. Smith, please.” You may use this one when you’re quite sure the person is available to talk to you.

Giving reasons for calling

At the beginning of the phone conversation it’s best to clarify why you are calling. This helps both speakers talk about what’s relevant.

7. I’m calling to ask about/discuss/clarify…

I’m calling to ask about your current printing promotion.

8. I just wanted to ask…

I just wanted to ask if you need any more articles for next month’s magazine.

9. Could you tell me…?

Could you tell me the address of Friday’s networking event?

Small talk

Whenever you want to be friendly with someone, you can make small talk. You can ask them about their day, or you may be more specific if you remember details from your past conversations.

10. Hi, [first name], how are you?

This one is more general and you can use it when you don’t remember anything specific to ask about.

11. How are you getting on with…?

This second phrase is more specific and should be used if you remember certain details. This will make the other person feel good about talking to you and may even improve your relationship. For example, if you remember that a company will move to a new office building, you might ask:

How are you getting on with preparations to change office buildings next month?

Taking messages

If you answer a phone call and the caller wants to speak to someone who is unavailable, you should take a message. You can do that in any of the following ways:

12. I’m sorry, she/he’s not here today. Can I take a message?

13. I’m afraid he/she’s not available at the moment. Can I take a message?

This response doesn’t tell the caller why “he/she” is unavailable. However if you know why, and it’s okay to share that information, you might say something like this:

I’m afraid she’s in a meeting until 4 p.m. Can I take a message?

14. Could I ask who’s calling, please?

You can use this phrase to politely find out who is calling.

15. I’ll give him/her your message as soon as he/she gets back.

After you’ve written down the caller’s message, you can say this phrase.

Leaving messages

On the other hand, when you make a phone call and the person you want to talk to is not there, you should leave a message for them. Here’s what you could say:

16. Could you please take a message? Please tell her/him that…

Could you please take a message? Please tell her that Cindy from accounting called about Mr. Shapiro’s expense reports.

17. I’d like to leave her/him a message. Please let her/him know that…

I’d like to leave him a message. Please let him know that tomorrow’s lunch meeting is cancelled.

Asking when somebody will be available

If you don’t want to leave a message, you can ask when would be a good time to call again:

18. When is a good time to call?

19. When is she/he going to be back?

Asking for information

When you ask people to give you information, it’s important to be polite. Using the modal verb “could” and a question is helpful in this case.

20. Could I ask what company you’re with?

21. Could you give me your mobile number, please?

Asking the other person to repeat information

Don’t worry if you can’t always understand people on the phone. It happens to native speakers all time! Just ask the person to repeat the information for you: “I’m sorry, could you please repeat that?”

If you have to write down names, it’s best to ask people to spell words out for you. You can use either of the following two phrases:

22. Could you spell that for me, please?

23. How do you spell that, please?

It’s always safe to repeat important information just to double check:

24. Let me see if I got that right.

Let me see if I got that right. Your name is Barack Obama, O-B-A-M-A, and your phone number is 555-222-1111, correct?

Sometimes the connection is bad and it’s okay to ask the other person to speak more loudly:

25. Would you mind speaking up a bit? I can’t hear you very well.

Whenever you don’t understand something, it’s best to ask. The information may be important, so just ask them to repeat it for you:

26. I’m sorry, I didn’t catch your first name.

Making arrangements

If you have to make arrangements, it’s important to be polite as you negotiate. Here are some phrases you might use:

27. Shall we say January 20?

28. How about the following week?

29. Would the week of January 18 work for you?

Asking for suggestions

When you have to decide on times and places to do things, you can invite the other person to make suggestions. It can be seen as a sign of politeness.

30. What would you suggest?

31. Do you have a time/place in mind?

Making requests

When you ask people to do things for you, it’s again essential to be polite. You can use the magic words “could” and “please” as seen below:

32. Could you send me an email with the detailed offer?

33. Do you mind sending me the report again, please?

Promising action

When you promise action, you may want to add when something is going to happen. Remember that in English we don’t use the future tense after time expressions like “when” and “as soon as.”

34. I’ll ask him to call you as soon as he gets back.

Notice that after “as soon as” we use “he gets back,” present tense.

35. I’ll send you the report as soon as possible.

Saying you cannot help

There are situations when you can’t help the other person, and it may be hard to say so. Just be firm and polite:

36. I’m afraid I can’t give you that information.

37. Sorry, but I’m not allowed to give details about that.

Ending the call

Remember to thank the other person for calling or for helping you. You can do that in any of the following ways:

38. Thank you very much for your help.

39. Thanks for calling.

40. Thank you for your time.

Once you learn some of these expressions to help you with phone calls, you will feel much better about your language skills. Don’t forget to practice them every day, and remember: People can’t always tell how long you’ve been studying English, but they can easily tell if you are smiling when speaking on the phone!

A Sample Telephone Conversation Between Two People.

Travel agent: Good morning. Can I help you?

Customer: Yes, we´d like to book a holiday in ………………../ a place which is/has………………. please.

Travel agent: How long do you want to go for?

Customer: ………………. (2 days, a week, 5 days, etc.) or I haven’t decided yet.

Travel agent: I see. We have some choices for you. First is ….., second …, the 3rd is……

Customer: Could you please tell me the prices of those journey ?

Travel agent: Yes, of course. The 1st costs …….., the 2nd is……..

Customer: I see. I choose …….

Travel agent: Ok. So, when do you want to go?

Customer: On …………..

Travel agent: And how many people will there be?

Customer: …………….

Travel agent: How do you wish to travel, by air or by coach, or do you want to take the train?

Customer: Oh, I think, by …………….

Travel agent: Could I just have your name, please?

Customer: Yes, it´s ……………………/ My name is ………….

Travel agent: Thank you for choosing us. I will inform you about details of the journey as soon as possible.

Customer: Ok. Thanks a lot. See you later.

Travel agent: Wish you a good journey !

EXAMPLE -2

Receptionist: Good morning. SpeakSmart Academy. Can I help you?

Caller: Yes, please. I’d like some information about the evening courses.

Receptionist: OK… what languages are you interested in?

Caller: German. Actually I work for a multinational company and they’re planning to transfer me to their Berlin office. I don’t know much German, so I thought I would learn at least a few words and phrases before I go.

Receptionist: That’s good. We do offer some spoken German courses in the evening.

Caller: Do you offer any short-term courses that I can do in one or two months? I don’t think I’ll be able to do a long-term course, because I might get the transfer anytime.

Receptionist: I see. Yes, we do offer some short-term courses, but the thing is that you can’t learn a language in one or two months. You’ll only learn the basics. By the way, do you speak any German at all?

Caller: I’m afraid not.

Receptionist: OK. Can you read or write German?

Caller: Yes, I can read and write. I did learn some German when I was in school but after that I lost touch with the language.

Receptionist: It’s okay. If you can read and write German, it’ll not be much of a problem.

Caller: So how much does the course cost?

Receptionist: The short-term course costs US $99 per person.

Caller: That’s not bad. So can I book my classes right now?

Receptionist: Well, telephone booking is not possible. You’ve to visit our office to sign up for the course. You’ll need to bring in your ID card and two passport size photos with you.

Caller: It’s okay. No problem. Do you need any other documents?

Receptionist: No, that’s it.

Caller: So when will the classes begin?

Receptionist: If you are ready, we can start the classes tomorrow itself.

Caller: That’s great. OK then. See you tomorrow. Many thanks for your help.

Receptionist: You’re welcome.

EXAMPLE – 3

Travel Agent: Hi sir, you gave a call regarding the booking of yours to Jaipur.

Customer: Yes, please.

Travel Agent: Sir, I would like to tell you that we have recently prepared an amazing package for that.

Customer: Could you please tell me the details of that package?

Travel Agent: Sure sir. In that package, you will get 4 nights and 3 days. Breakfast for 3 days is complimentary in this, and the complete package is for 15000/-.

Customer: That’s great!

Travel Agent: So sir, when are you planning to go?

Customer: As you know, I was planning earlier but couldn’t go due to a reason but now as you have an amazing package and I am also free so I am planning to go within this week only.

Travel Agent: That’s perfectly ok sir!

Customer: This package is valid till when?

Travel Agent: For a month.

Customer: Great. What are all formalities needed to be done?

Travel Agent: Sir for booking this package you have to pay 2500/- with a copy of your id proof and photograph.

Customer: Sure, no problem. How can I make the payment?

Travel Agent: You can pay by card, cash or cheque.

Customer: But for that, I need to visit your office. Is it possible that I can pay online and WhatsApp you my details?

Travel Agent: Sure sir, you can do that as well.

Customer: Just send me your account details and your WhatsApp number.

Travel Agent: Ok!

EXAMPLE – 4

Could you help me with vacation plans?
B: Do you know where you will be traveling?
A: I am open to suggestions at this point.
B: Are you wanting to travel to a tropical climate, or would you like to go somewhere with a cooler climate?
A: I would like to travel to a cooler destination.
B: I can give you some brochures that could give you some ideas.
A: I will look at them right now.
B: How much money is in your budget for this trip?
A: I think that I can spend about two hundred dollars a day.
B: Take your time choosing a destination and, when you’ve narrowed it down, I’ll be happy to help you make a reservation.

EXAMPLE – 5

Gopi : Hello, is this not Veena Enterprises? 
Manager : Yes. 
Gopi : Has Gopalakrishnan come? 
Manager : He has been on leave for two days. 
Gopi : I see. Do you have his mobile number with you? 
Manager : I do have it. But he has instructed not to give it to anyone. 
Gopi : Then I shouldn’t ask you. You give my mobile number to Gopalakrishnan. 
Manager : Please tell me your phone number. 
Gopi : Here it is. Ask him to contact me urgently. 
Manager : I’ll tell him. Anything else? 
Gopi : No. Thanks. 

EXAMPLE – 6

Good morning, this is Ray speaking. Is Lee in?
B: Hi, Ray. This is Lee.
A: Good morning, Lee. How is it going with you today?
B: Things are wonderful. What can I help you with?
A: Could we meet for lunch tomorrow to discuss the new project?
B: That would be great. What restaurant did you have in mind?
A: We could go to Lozano’s downtown.
B: That would be perfect. It’s a nice quiet place to meet.
A: I’ll see you there around twelve then.
B: I am looking forward to meeting with you. See you then.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.